Captial Region Forward re-opening plan. Testing sites & screening options. Data & statistics dashboard.  COVID-19 information and resources »

Albany County Agricultural Districts

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Agricultural District Review Worksheet

The worksheet can be printed and mailed to:

Albany County Office of Natural Resource Conservation
Attn: Laura DeGaetano
Harold L. Joyce Albany County Office Building
112 State Street, Room 1310
Albany, NY 12207


Fill and save and e-mail

In 1971, the New York State Legislature created an Agricultural Districts Program in response to concerns that non-agricultural land uses were expanding into valuable farm areas. This program, based on Agriculture and Markets Agricultural District Law Article 25-AA, allows the creation of Agricultural Districts where agriculture is encouraged and protected. Agricultural Districts programs are authorized at the state level and implemented at the county level. These districts are not the same as agricultural zoning that a town may have although the two often overlap. Voluntary enrollment in the program provides farmers with benefits including:

  • Differential tax assessment;
  • Protection against unreasonable local regulations;
  • Special review of proposed eminent domain takings;
  • Required Agricultural Impact Statement for public projects;
  • Notification requirement to inform property buyers about surrounding farming practices; and
  • Limited protection against nuisance lawsuits.

The first Agricultural District in Albany County was created in the towns of Berne and Knox and certified in July 1974. Between 1974 and 1977, the Albany County Legislature formed five more Agricultural Districts. In the early 1980s, the Agricultural District Law was amended to allow parcels to be placed in an Agricultural District that were not contiguous. This led to consolidation of what was once six districts into the three current Agricultural Districts:

  • District #1: Berne, Knox (27,637 acres)
  • District #2: Westerlo, Rensselaerville (17,696 acres)
  • District #3: Bethlehem, Coeymans, Cohoes, Colonie, Guilderland, New Scotland (25,684 acres)

Participation in Albany County’s Agricultural Districts Program has steadily increased since its inception. Today, there are 71,017 acres of land included in the three districts, which represents most of the County’s productive agricultural land. The majority of the contiguous blocks of districted agricultural land are in the rural towns of Berne, Knox, Westerlo, and Rensselaerville, although the increasingly suburban town of New Scotland also has a significant amount of acreage remaining in agriculture. Agricultural District lands are somewhat dispersed throughout the Town of Coeymans and the more densely populated towns of Guilderland, Colonie, and Bethlehem.

Albany County Right to Farm Law

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer