All news

Albany County Sewer District Earns National Award

July 25, 2014

Albany County Executive Daniel P. McCoy and County Legislature Chair Shawn Morse today announced that Albany County Sewer District’s two plants have received the 2013 Gold Peak Performance Awards as presented by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies.

The awards are presented in recognition of the facilities’ achievement of 100 percent compliance with its National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits in 2013. The award honors those facilities that have achieved 100 percent compliance with their permit for the entire calendar year.

“The operations of the Albany County Sewer District continue to be recognized nationwide and for that we can thank Executive Director Richard Lyons and his team of professionals,” said McCoy. “”They deserve a lot of credit for the work they do every day on behalf of ratepayers in the county.”

“Rich and his staff continue to be leaders in their field,” said Chairman Morse. “I’m not surprised they are once again receiving accolades for their work. They are visionaries and we are lucky to have their leadership and vision in Albany County. We are very proud of him and the work his staff does for the Sewer District.

“These awards are made possible through the support of County Executive McCoy and the Albany County Legislature and their support of district capital improvements and programs,” said Richard J. Lyons, Executive Director, Albany County Sewer District. “This award recognizes the great work and dedication of North Plant Chief Operator, Craig Cummings and South Plant Chief Operator, Tom Tommell and all district employees who protect public health and the water environment."

The Sewer District’s two plants provide wastewater treatment for more than 200,000 people in eight communities including Albany, Cohoes, Watervliet and parts of the towns of Colonie and Guilderland.


Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Albany County ExecutiveDaniel P. McCoy